Skip to content

Reviewing Previous Recordings

The Motif WebUI includes the ability to quickly review previous recordings, delete them if requested, or copy or move them to other locations.

To open or delete a video, select it from the list and click 'Open' or 'Delete'. To seek through the video use the slider widget. Clicking 'Stop' closes the video.

Note

Videos will not automatically play when opened, you need to seek through them manually. This feature is not a substitute for inspecting your videos thoroughly later, but provides a quick way to check they are OK before copying to storage, or in case the recording system disk is full.

Get Data off a Motif System

Motif supports multiple ways to move data off the system using the WebUI. Open the camera menu and select the "Review/Copy" tab of one of the cameras.

Tip

Motif can be configured with a number of locations 'folders', or otherwise, which allow easily copying recordings from the system to your research group shared storage. This can be a good option when the Motif system will not have a monitor, and will be used only remotely

The options available for your Motif system are listed in the "Destination" menu.

  • "COPY ALL"
    will copy all files to the external drive. Copy will only copy files that are not yet copied to the external file (synchronization)
  • "MOVE ALL"
    will move all files to the external drive not yet present. The copy on the recording system will be deleted.

Info

Copy only copies new files. You can click "Copy" multiple times and it will only copy new recordings.

Info

If you are using only the Motif software on a local PC you can also simply use your operating system file browser to go to the location where recordings are saved, and copy or delete recordings manually.

USB Drive

Attach a USB 3 drive with enough free space. It will show up in the "Destination" menu as soon as it is ready. If a drive is not detected restarting the system might help.

Network Share

Motif can mount network drives if connected to your local network. For configuration please contact the support team (support@loopbio.com)

Remote Rsync Destination

If your Motif system is connected to your local network a "rsync destination" can be configured. For configuration please contact the support team (support@loopbio.com) or consult the configuration documentaion.

Upload Data from Motif to Loopy-online (app.loopb.io)

Data can be uploaded directly from Motif to a Loopy account.

Info

An active user account on Loopy with enough free space is required.

Log into your Loopy account on http://app.loopb.io , navigate to "My Account" and copy the "USER API Key" (e.g: 3f2xxxxxxxxxxxxx). If there is no API key set click "Generate".

On the Motif WebUI open a camera and navigate to the "Review/Copy" tab. Past the API key to the "Loopy User" text field, select a video, and click "Upload".

Motif will provide feedback on the upload process and if the data was uploaded successfully.

A default API key can be set by setting LoopyAPIKey in Recording

Tip

Contact support@loopbio.com for instructions on how to configure Motif with Loopy-onsite

Export Recordings

Multiple camera field systems, systems without a GPU, or system with extremely high resolution and framerate often do not support live compression, hence the disk fills up quite quickly with "raw" recordings.

Exporting converts "raw" recordings to compressed files and saves a lot of disk space. Exporting can be done on the system to free up space, or it can be done as part of the copy process.

Warning

Exporting is very resource intensive and therefor should not be used while recording.

Export to This System (convert videos)

Exported movies are much smaller than "raw" recordings. Live compression is not possible as to slow on field system. This step has to be moved to a later point in time. For exporting open the camera menu and select the "Export" tab of one of the cameras.

If you have exported movies that way do not use "EXPORT ALL" as it will re-export and might fail. To be save use "Export Selected".

It is possible but not recommended to export while powered from battery, however, long recording session might make it necessary.

Export Directly to an External Drive

For exporting to an external drive, or other location, you need to have at least one network share configured, or have attached a USB3 drive with enough free space to one of the USB3 Ports.

(This is only supported from the multicamera view; not available on all systems) This will enable the fields "EXPORT ALL", "COPY ALL", and "MOVE ALL".

  • "EXPORT ALL"
    first exports each raw recording to the "High" quality preset for export and moves the exported version to the external drive. If successful, the "raw" recording will be deleted.
  • "COPY ALL"
    all files ("raw" and "exported") will be copied to the external drive. Copy will only copy files that are not yet copied to the external file (synchronization)
  • "MOVE ALL"
    will move all files to the external drive not yet present. The copy on the recording system will be deleted.
  • "EJECT" the USB drive before disconnecting it